American industry hopes that economic reforms will continue in PM Narendra Modi’s third term


American industry is optimistic that economic reforms will continue in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s third term, even if he returns to power with a slightly smaller majority.

Mukesh Aghi, president and CEO of the US-India Strategic Partnership Forum (USISPF), said in an interview to news agency PTI on Tuesday, “I think the atmosphere is that the Prime Minister will go back with the alliance. Majority…reform agenda will continue…US-India relations will move forward positively, focus on QUAD, I2U2, IMAC will continue…”

He said, “As far as (India-US) relations are concerned, I don’t think there has been any change… I think they (US President Joe Biden’s administration) were hoping that Prime Minister Modi would come back and visit. Will continue between the two countries…”

Aghi said he does not think the impact of the election will affect the pace of corporate investment in India.

US-India Business Council (USIBC) President and CEO Atul Keshap said in a statement, “USIBC congratulates all Indians on the successful conclusion of the Lok Sabha elections… Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) congratulate him. His extended order…”

He said, “We look forward to working with the Prime Minister, his Cabinet and all of India’s elected leaders to expand trade and investment between India and the United States to fulfill their aspirations…”

Cisco chairman emeritus John Chambers said in a social media post, “Congratulations to Prime Minister Narendra Modi who won India’s general elections for the third time… Under his leadership, India has made tremendous progress in economic and digitalization. Progress. …”

Pakistan’s former ambassador to America Hussain Haqqani has also congratulated the people of India. He wrote on social media, “Congratulations to the people of India for the 18th parliamentary elections since 1947, in which they have never faced allegations of massive rigging or mandate theft… This is a commitment to democracy…”

The Election Commission of India has declared the results of all 543 Lok Sabha constituencies across the country. In which Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 240 seats and Congress has won 99 seats. The BJP-led NDA has secured a majority in the Lok Sabha and Modi is all set to form the government for the third time in a row.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *