PAK vs IRE: Pakistan held their breath in last match of T20 WC, beat Ireland after falling; Babar Azam saved his shame

Posted on

Read on the application

Captain Babar Azam’s unbeaten 32-run innings helped Pakistan beat Ireland by three wickets in a futile T20 World Cup 2024 group match on Sunday, after a superb performance by the fast bowlers led by Shaheen Shah Afridi. . Due to Pakistan’s brilliant bowling, Ireland could score only 106 runs for nine wickets in 20 overs. But Ireland also made the target a challenge for Pakistan, thanks to their bowlers, who finished with 111 for seven in 18.5 overs.

Azam (two fours in 34 balls) remained at the crease until the end while Shaheen Shah Afridi scored an unbeaten 13 with two sixes in five balls to lead his team to victory. Both teams were already out of the Super Eight race, making this group match a mere formality. The Ireland team did not manage to win a single match in the group. Barry McCarthy took three wickets for 15 runs in four overs for Ireland. Curtis Kaempfer took two wickets while Mark Adair and Ben White took one wicket each.

Pakistan openers Mohammad Rizwan (17) and Sam Ayub (17) were dismissed in the powerplay. Captain Babar stood at one end while at the other end Fakhar Zaman (05), Usman Khan (02), Shadab Khan (0) came and started walking. Abbas Afridi gave good support to Babar and was dismissed for 17 runs in 21 balls. Shaheen then played the third ball as Shah Afridi came in and hit a six. He then hit another six to lead the team to victory.

Earlier, the trio of Shaheen Shah Afridi (three wickets for 22 runs in four overs), Mohammad Amir (two wickets in 11 runs) and Haris Rauf (one wicket in 17 runs) benefited from a brilliant seam and swing performance. Ireland took six wickets for 32 runs in the Powerplay. Then left arm spinner Imad Wasim took three wickets for eight runs in four overs. Gareth Delaney was the highest scorer for Ireland with 31 runs in a 19-ball innings with three sixes and a four.

Mark Adair (15) and George Dockrell (11) were the other players to score in double figures. Number ten Josh Little took Ireland past 100 and remained unbeaten on 22. Ireland got off to a poor start, with the team scoring three wickets for four runs in the second over. Shaheen Shah Afridi took the wickets of Andrew Balbirnie (0) and Lokran Tucker (02) in the first three balls. Amir then took the wicket of Ireland captain Paul Stirling (01).

Harry Tector fell victim to Shaheen Shah Afridi on the next ball which resulted in the fourth wicket falling at 15 runs in three overs. Dockrell eased the pressure by hitting a couple of fours but Amir took his own catch. Then Rauf got Kurtis Kemper caught out by Saim Ayub. Delaney hit the first six of the innings off Rauf in the ninth over and then completed the side’s half-century with a six off Shadab Khan over long-on. Then Imad Wasim dismissed Delaney to reduce the score to 76 runs for seven wickets. After that this bowler took Adair’s wicket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *