What is Super Over? When was it first implemented, which team bats first?

New Delhi. June 6, 2024 was a very special day for the host American cricket team. On this day he created history by defeating Pakistan in the T20 World Cup. In the 11th match of the T20 World Cup, the Associate team performed brilliantly and defeated Pakistan in the Super Over. Both teams scored the same 159 runs in the allotted 20 overs. After this the result of the match came in super over. But what is this super over? People are curious to know about this. Even the Americans were desperate to know what it was all about. This question is in everyone’s mind. But don’t worry, let’s take a detailed look at the super over rule and understand why and when it applies in cricket.

Super Over has been played 4 times in the history of T20 World Cup so far. There have been 2 super overs so far in the T20 World Cup being played in America and West Indies. It was first played between Sri Lanka and New Zealand in the 2012 T20 World Cup. It was followed by Sri Lanka’s victory, while West Indies also defeated New Zealand in the Super Over in the same year, while Namibia defeated Oman and USA defeated Pakistan in this World Cup.

  • What is Super Over?

    A super over is used when a match is tied. This rule came in 2008. Earlier the rule of ball out method was applied. In the first T20 World Cup played in 2007, India beat Pakistan bowled out. When the score is tied, the super over rule applies. Under this, two teams select three batsmen and one bowler to bowl 6 valid balls. The team scoring the most runs at the end of two overs is declared the winner. All runs scored by a batsman and all wickets taken by a bowler in a super over are not counted in his career statistics.

  • Which team bats first in a super over?

  • The team batting in the second innings in the original match comes to bat first in the super over.

  • How many wickets can a bowler take in a super over?

  • A bowler can take a maximum of 2 wickets in a super over.

  • What if the super over also ends in a tie?

  • According to ICC rules, if a Super Over is tied, the next Super Over will be played for the appropriate time until a winner is decided.

    First published: June 7, 2024, 21:10 IST

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *